Legislative Council

AUS Legislative Council meets biweekly during the academic year, and is the legislative governing body of the Arts Undergraduate Society, subordinate only to the AUS General Assembly. Legislative Council meetings are open to the public, unless a confidential session is declared.

Voting membership on AUS Council includes the AUS Executive, the Arts Senators, a representative from each of the AUS’ departmental associations, a representative from FEARC (the AUS’s first-year committee), the AUS Equity Commissioners, and a representative from AUSec (the AUS Environmental Council), a representative from ACE (the Arts Community Engagement Committee), and a representative from EPIC (the AUS Event Planning and Implementation Committee).

AUS Council operates under a modified version of Robert’s Rules of Order so that meetings can occur in an organized and efficient fashion. Most decisions of AUS Council are made by way of motions submitted to and approved by AUS Council. 

The standing rules for Legislative Council can be found here. A template for submitting motions to council can be found here. The AUS letterhead for submitting reports can be found here.

“The governing body of the AUS shall be known as the Legislative Council (hereinafter, Council) and as such shall:
(a) Recognize the supremacy of the AUS Constitution and be bound by it;
(b) Be empowered to make all decisions and take action on behalf of the AUS in accordance with and subject to the constraints imposed by the General Assembly;
(c) Adopt the AUS annual budget;
(d) Establish Committees of Council where and when it deems necessary;
(e) Have the power to mandate any of its representatives to adopt and defend a specific stance.”

2023-2024 Council Documents

Fall 2023

Winter 2024

2022-2023 Council Documents

Fall 2022

Winter 2023

Searching for documents of previous years? Learn more.